Quick Links

10th Annual Milwaukee Regional Research Forum (MRRF)

10th Annual Milwaukee Regional Research Forum (MRRF)

On October 14, 2019, the 10th Annual Milwaukee Regional Research Forum – Clinical & Translational Science Institute (CTSI) Viewpoint Luncheon celebrated the 50th Anniversary of the Milwaukee Regional Medical Center along with a poster presentation of CTSI supported research by MCW faculty, students and staff, as well as partner organizations.

The Milwaukee Regional Research Forum, Inc. (MRRF) is a citizen inspired organization dedicated to advancing the goals of the Clinical & Translational Science Institute of Southeast Wisconsin (CTSI).  It  was created through the combined vision of two individuals, Dr. Reza Shaker and Charles C. Mulcahy to inform our community about the CTSI and to promote and communicate the collaborative research activities between The Medical College of Wisconsin, University of Wisconsin – Milwaukee, Marquette University, Milwaukee School of Engineering (MSOE), Children’s Hospital of Wisconsin, Froedtert Hospital, Versiti Blood Center of Wisconsin and Zablocki Veterans’ Affairs Medical Center.

Through this important annual event, the Milwaukee Regional Research Forum is committed to providing a connection for the CTSI and Milwaukee Regional Medical Center (MRMC) with community and business leaders to collaboratively engage in timely and valuable research outcomes to improve patient care and life in the community.

Dr. Brandon J. Currie, CEO, Stryv365, Inc. & COO, Al Hurvis/ADAMM Education Foundation, Inc. served as the Master of Ceremonies.  The keynote speaker was Robert Kimi, Executive Director, Milwaukee Regional Medical Center.  Additional speakers included Kathleen Ehley, Mayor, City of Wauwatosa, Dr. John R. Raymond, Sr., MD, MCW President and CEO, Dr. Joseph E. Kerschner, MD, Provost and Executive Vice President, and Dean, School of Medicine, Dr. Reza Shaker, Director, CTSI SEW, Ginny Bolger, Ryan Heinemann, Assistance General Counsel, Northwestern Mutual & Grandson of John L. Doyne, Sigmund Tomkalski, Doyne Hospital (Retired).

T. Michael Bolger Award

T. Michael Bolger served with distinction and significant accomplishment as the President of The Medical College of Wisconsin (MCW) from 1990 to 2010. During his time as President, MCW experienced extraordinary growth in faculty, operating revenues and budget, new facilities, new Doctoral and Masters programs and joint programs with CTSI entities. T. Michael Bolger supported and encouraged faculty to expand funded research opportunities, including the successful creation of the CTSI, funded through the National Institutes of Health (NIH).

In honoring and preserving Mr. Bolger’s historic accomplishments, the T. Michael Bolger Award recognizes regional, national or international individuals or organizations whose accomplishments resulted in improved patient care and/or treatment and cure of diseases. The 2019 award was presented by Mike Bolger’s wife, Ginny Bolger.

The 2019 recipients of the T. Michael Bolger Awards are Syed Ahmed, MD, MPH, Associate Provost and Senior Associate Dean for Community Engagement and Professor of Family Medicine, Medical College of Wisconsin and Jeffrey C. Whittle, MD MPH, a staff physician at the Clement J. Zablocki VA Medical Center and Professor of Medicine, Division of General Internal Medicine. Drs. Ahmed and Whittle join a select list of distinguished past recipients recognized for this high honor.

John L. Doyne Collaboration Award

The John L. Doyne Collaboration Award was created to honor and preserve the legacy of the former Milwaukee County Executive John L. Doyne as the “father” of the Milwaukee Regional Medical Center. The 2019 award was presented by Ryan Heinemann, Assistant General Counsel, Northwestern Mutual and Grandson of John L. Doyne.

John Doyne served as County Executive from 1960 to 1976. He was the public sector leader who brought private and public parties together in carrying out his lifelong vision of creating a regional medical center on County grounds located in Wauwatosa, Wisconsin. As a result of his vision, abilities, personality and determination, the Milwaukee Regional Medical Center (MRMC) developed as a hub for advanced medical research and as a provider of superior patient treatment and care. In the process, thousands of jobs were created including a diverse group of medical professionals.

The 2019 recipient of the John L. Doyne Collaboration Award is Sigmund (Sig) Tomkalski, who enjoyed a thirty year career at Milwaukee County Hospital – Milwaukee County Medical Complex and John L. Doyne Hospital.

A panel discussion around the MRMC growth over the past 50 years was moderated by Rob Jenken, President, Wisconsin Policy Forum, with participants:  John Balzer, Charles C. Mulcahy, Robert Simi and Sigmund Tomkalski.

About the Milwaukee Regional Medical Center

The only buildings on campus 50 years ago were the county hospital and a nurse’s residence.  Since being officially named as an academic medical center in 1968, the campus has experienced incredible growth which has benefited the health and economy of the entire region.  Today, MRMC is in the top one-third of all National Institutes of Health (NIH) funded research institutions in the U.S. with more than $237 million in external support for research, teaching, training and related processes.

Its member organizations bring their research to patients via new medicines, treatments, therapeutics, interventions and preventions.  Virtually all major specialties are now available through the MRMC members, providing the most comprehensive range of medical expertise in Wisconsin.  The campus has grown to become a primary referral point in treating complex health conditions with the most advanced care.

MRMC is the region’s only academic medical center featuring the following:

  • Level 1 Adult and Pediatric Trauma Centers
  • Nationally recognized Children’s Hospital
  • 1.5 million patient visits annually
  • $4.88 billion per year economic benefit to Metro Milwaukee provided by MRMC members
  • Largest employer in Wauwatosa with over 17,000 employees

MRMC members welcome the next 50 years as a regional academic medical campus combining the key aspects of caring for the most vulnerable, providing one exemplary standard of care for all and continuing the tradition of care while innovating continuous improvements for the future.

NIH Funding Acknowledgment: Important Reminder – Please acknowledge the NIH when publishing papers, patents, projects, and presentations resulting from the use of CTSI resources by including the NIH Funding Acknowledgement.


Children's Hospital of WisconsinMarquette UniversityMSOEUWMVersitiVA Medical Center