Quick Links

Clinical Research Scholars Honored at Reception

Clinical Research Scholars Honored at Reception

CTSI’s Education and Training Program hosted a reception and research symposium to honor the 2011 – 2013 graduating cohort of Clinical Research Scholars and welcome the newly selected scholars. Over 80 people, including current and past scholars, program faculty, and members of the CTSI Board of Directors gathered in the MCW Alumni Center on September 10th for the ceremony and poster session.

Following a welcome from Jane Kotchen, MD, MPH, Clinical Research Scholars Program Director and CTSI’s Director, Reza Shaker, MD, attendees heard from two graduating scholars, Allison Hyngstrom, PhD, PT, Assistant Professor of Physical Therapy at Marquette University and Danny Thomas, MD, MPH, Assistant Professor of Pediatrics at MCW. Drs. Hyngstrom and Thomas spoke about their experience in the program and how it has helped them enhance their careers as clinical and translational researchers.

032_2013 CRSP ReceptionThe accomplishments of the graduating scholars were highlighted and the 2013-2015 scholars were introduced. The poster session showcased the research of the new scholars.

The CTSI Clinical Research Scholars Program provides didactic training and individual mentoring in career development and clinical research to junior faculty who are committed to pursuing careers in academic medicine as independently funded, clinical and translational investigators. The Program is comprised of a diverse group of researchers, educators, physicians, and junior faculty. These individuals work together to promote an environment that facilitates research and learning while fostering collaborative investigation.

NIH Funding Acknowledgment: Important Reminder – Please acknowledge the NIH when publishing papers, patents, projects, and presentations resulting from the use of CTSI resources by including the NIH Funding Acknowledgement.


Children's Hospital of WisconsinMarquette UniversityMSOEUWMVersitiVA Medical Center